Rosenthal & Wadas Voted Best Law Firm in McKinney McKinneyonline.com (972) 369-0577

We Pick Up the Phone Every Time; Call 24 Hours a Day, 7 Days a Week

Controlled Substance Crimes and Punishments

Texas law stipulates that possession of a controlled substance is punishable by a range of confinement dependent on the amount of the substance found in a defendant’s possession. Defined by the Texas Health & State Code section 481.101 through section 481.118, each controlled substance is given a penalty group as well as a punishment classification and a confinement range. Also, each offense allows for probation.

We’ve put together the following table with all of the controlled substances in Texas, along with the different penalty groups, punishment classifications, and confinement range for each substance and its associated discovery amount (in grams) as a way to make it easy to find and understand the law tied to each substance.

Drug Charges Chart

Drug (Amount) Penalty Group Punishment Classification Confinement Range
Buprenorphine (Less than 28 grams) 4 Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Buprenorphine (28-200 grams) 4 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Buprenorphine (200-400 grams) 4 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Buprenorphine (400 grams or more 4 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Cocaine (Less than 1 gram) 1 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Cocaine (1-4 grams) 1 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Cocaine (4-200 grams) 1 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Cocaine(200-400 grams) 1 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Cocaine (400 grams or more) 1 Enhanced 1st Degree Felony 10-99 years TDC
Ecstasy (Less than 1 gram) 2 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Ecstasy (1-4 grams) 2 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Ecstasy (4-400 grams) 2 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Ecstasy (over 400 grams) 2 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Heroine (Less than 1 gram) 1 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Heroine (1-4 grams) 1 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Heroine (4-200 grams) 1 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Heroine (200-400 grams) 1 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Heroine (400 grams or 1 more) 1 Enhanced 1st Degree Felony 10-99 years TDC
Hydrocodone under 300 mg (Less than 28 grams) 3 Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Hydrocodone under 300 mg (28-200 grams) 3 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Hydrocodone under 300 mg (200-400 grams) 3 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Hydrocodone under 300 mg (400 grams or more) 3 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Hydrocodone over 300 mg (Less than 1 gram) 1 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Hydrocodone over 300 mg (1-4 grams) 1 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Hydrocodone over 300 mg (4-200 grams) 1 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Hydrocodone over 300 mg (200-400 grams) 1 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Hydrocodone over 300 mg (400 grams or more) 1 Enhanced 1st Degree Felony 10-99 years TDC
Ketamine (Less than 1 gram) 1 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Ketamine (1-4 grams) 1 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Ketamine (4-200 grams) 1 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Ketamine(200-400 grams) 1 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Ketamine (400 grams or more) 1 Enhanced 1st Degree Felony 10-99 years TDC
LSD (Less than 20 units) 1a State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
LSD (20-80 units) 1a 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
LSD (80-4,000 units) 1a 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
LSD (4,000-8,000 units) 1a 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
LSD (8,000 units or more) 1a Enhanced 1st Degree Felony 10-99 years TDC
Marijuana (Less than 2 oz.) N/A Class B Misdemeanor UP to 180 days jail
Marijuana (2-4 oz.) N/A Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Marijuana (4 oz.5 lbs.) N/A State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Marijuana (550 lbs.) N/A 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Marijuana (502,000 lbs.) N/A 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Marijuana (2,000 lbs. or more) N/A 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Marinol (Less than 1 gram) 2 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Marinol (1-4 grams) 2 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Marinol (4-400 grams) 2 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Marinol (400 grams or more) 2 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Mescaline (Less than 1 gram) 2 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Mescaline (1-4 grams) 2 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Mescaline (4-400 grams) 2 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Mescaline (400 grams or more) 2 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Methamphetamine (Less than 1 gram) 1 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Methamphetamine (1-4 grams) 1 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Methamphetamine (4-200 grams) 1 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Methamphetamine (200-400 grams) 1 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Methamphetamine (400 grams or more) 1 Enhanced 1st Degree Felony 10-99 years TDC
Morphine (Less than 28 grams) 4 Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Morphine (20-200 grams) 4 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Morphine (200-400 grams) 4 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Morphine (400 grams or more) 4 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Motofen (Less than 28 grams) 4 Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Motofen (28-200 grams) 4 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Motofen (200-400 grams) 4 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Motofen (400 grams or more) 4 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Oxycodone (Less than 1 gram) 1 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
Oxycodone (1-4 grams) 1 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Oxycodone (4-200 grams) 1 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Oxycodone (200-400 grams) 1 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Oxycodone (400 grams or more) 1 Enhanced 1st Degree Felony 10-99 years TDC
PCP (Less than 1 gram) 2 State Jail Felony 180 days 2 years state jail
PCP (1-4 grams) 2 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
PCP (4-400 grams) 2 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
PCP (400 grams or more) 2 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Pyrovalerone (Less than 28 grams) 4 Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Pyrovalerone (28-200 grams) 4 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Pyrovalerone (200-400 grams) 4 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Pyrovalerone (400 grams or more) 4 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Ritalin (Less than 28 grams) 3 Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Ritalin (28-200 grams) 3 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Ritalin (200-400 grams) 3 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Ritalin (400 grams or more) 3 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Valium (Less than 28 grams) 3 Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Valium (28-200 grams) 3 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Valium (200-400 grams) 3 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Valium (400 grams or more) 3 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC
Xanex (Less than 28 grams) 3 Class A Misdemeanor Up to 1 year jail
Xanex (28-200 grams) 3 3rd Degree Felony 2-10 years TDC
Xanex (200-400 grams) 3 2nd Degree Felony 2-20 years TDC
Xanex (400 grams or more) 3 1st Degree Felony 5-99 years TDC