No matter the crime, being arrested and charged with an offense is extremely intimidating. When those charges include the word “deadly”, it can be downright terrifying. If you have been charged with aggravated assault with a deadly weapon in Texas, you are facing severe penalties. A conviction could come with life-altering consequences, including the loss of your freedom.
At Rosenthal & Wadas, PLLC, our Collin County domestic violence attorneys have the skills and legal experience required to defend charges of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon. If you or a loved one was arrested for aggravated assault with a deadly weapon in Texas, please do not delay in contacting our defense team today for immediate assistance with your case.
Texas Law: What is a ‘Deadly Weapon’?
In Collin County, TX, the term ‘deadly weapon’ can refer to many different things. In fact, under the Texas Penal Code, a deadly weapon is defined as:
- A firearm;
- An object designed or adapted for the purposes of inflicting a serious bodily injury or fatality; or
- Anything used in a way that is intended or capable of causing a serious bodily injury or a fatality.
It is important to note that this is an extremely broad definition. It gives Texas prosecutors the power to charge a defendant with aggravated assault with a deadly weapon in many different circumstances. Depending on how they are used, any of the following things could potentially be classified as a deadly weapon under the Texas legal code:
- Explosive devices;
- Chemical expensing devices; and
Unfortunately, Texas prosecutors are known to overcharge crimes. In some cases, defendants are charged with aggravated assault with a deadly weapon, even though such a charge is wholly inappropriate given the actual circumstances of the case. If this has happened to you, it is imperative that you seek immediate assistance from a qualified legal professional.
Collin County, TX: Penalties for Assault With a Deadly Weapon
If you are convicted of an assault with a deadly weapon in Collin County, Texas, the consequences will be severe. Penalties for this specific criminal charge can be found under Chapter Twelve of the Texas Penal Code. These penalties include:
- Second degree felony charges;
- A fine of up to $10,000;
- Prison time, from two to twenty years; and
- A permanent criminal record.
Additionally, in certain circumstances, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon can be upgraded to a first degree felony offense. Specifically, charges will be upgraded if the offense was committed against a family member (domestic violence cases), a police officer or security official, or a public servant, or if the crime was committed in order to intimidate a witness in another criminal case. First degree felony charges can result in a maximum sentence of 99 years in a Texas state prison.
How Our Criminal Defense Attorneys Can Help
Our Collin County defense lawyers strongly believe that your rights must be protected during every stage of the criminal justice process. You are entitled to an aggressive legal defense, and we are prepared to provide that for you.
First and foremost, this means that we are going to take the time to understand and investigate your case. We know the ins and outs of the Texas criminal justice system, and we will learn everything there is to know about your case and the specific charges that are being brought against you.
With this information, we will be able to provide you with the personalized legal defense that you deserve. We will approach your case from every angle, ensuring that we can achieve the best possible result for you and your family. Specifically, this means that we will:
- Gather every piece of evidence that is relevant to your defense;
- Ensure that the prosecutors are not overcharging your crime;
- Review your arrest and the prosecutor’s actions to be certain that your constitutional rights were protected during every phase;
- Force the prosecutors to prove the charges with legitimate and sufficient evidence, seeking to get your case dismissed outright; and
- If it is the best available option, work to negotiate with the prosecution to get the penalties against you reduced.
Contact Our Collin County Assault Lawyers Today
At Rosenthal & Wadas, PLLC, our dedicated Collin County aggravated assault lawyers have extensive experience handling cases involving alleged aggravated assault with a deadly weapon. If you or a loved one was arrested and charged with this crime, please contact us today at (972) 369-0577 to schedule your free, fully confidential consultation. From our office in Mckinney, we represent clients throughout Collin County, including in Plano, Frisco, Lucas and Melissa.